AER Member Organisations

From an umbrella organisation...

Created in 1985 as an umbrella organisation bringing together regions and smaller interregional organisations, the Assembly of European Regions’ (AER) key activity has always been to facilitate knowledge exchange, the sharing of expertise, experiences and best practices, and the implementation of joint actions and projects with the aim to defend AER members’ interest on European level and beyond. AER has therefore never worked in isolation, but has been engaged in cooperation with other interregional networks, associations and working groups, forming a wide network of contacts and relationships.


11 geographical interregional organisations

The Association of European Border Regions (AEBR) mission is to act for the benefit of all European border and crossborder regions in order to highlight their particular problems, opportunities, tasks and projects. AEBR exchange know-how and information in order to formulate and coordinate our common interests and to offer adequate solutions for day-to-day border problems.

The Alps-Adriatic Working Community was founded in Venice on the 20th of November 1978. The founder members were: Bavaria, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Carinthia, Croatia, Upper Austria, Salzburg (active observer), Slovenia, Styria, Veneto.The members of the Working Community have come together at a hot spot of European integration. The socio-cultural contacts in this area are of great importance for the success of European collaboration. 

The Alps–Mediterranean Euroregion was created the 10th July 2007 between three Italian regions (Piedmont, Liguria and Aosta Valley) and two French regions (Rhône-Alpes and Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur). It has area of about 110,460 km2 and more than 17 million inhabitants. The largest Italian cities are Turin and Genoa and the largest French cities are Lyon and Marseille.


Based on cooperation among the countries along the Danube, ARGE Donauländer pursues the objective of contributing to the peaceful development of the Danube region. Members: Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Upper Austria, Lower Austria, Vienna, Burgenland, Slovak Republic, Györ-Moson-Sopron, Komarom-Esztergom, Pest, Budapest, Féjer, Bács-Kiskun, Tolna, Baranya, Croatia, Serbia, Federation of the Danube counties of Romania, Bulgarian regions of Lovech, Montana and Rousse, Republic of Moldova and Odessa.

The Communaute de Travail des Pyrenees promotes the development and conservation of the Pyrenees. Its mission: stimulate exchange between territories and its stakeholders and tackle the problems of today and tomorrow: transport, tourism, communications, and sustainable development. It is therefore within this framework that the CTP has decided to create the Pyrenees Climate Change Observatory.

The Association of Alpine States (ARGE ALP) is an association of 10 states, provinces and cantons of Austria, Germany, Italy, and Switzerland. The members are, from Austria: Salzburg, Tyrol, and Vorarlberg; from Germany: Bavaria; from Italy: South Tyrol, Lombardy, and Trentino; from Switzerland: Graubünden, St. Gallen and Ticino. The association represents 23 million people within the area of about 142,000 km². It was founded on 12 October 1972 in Mösern, Tyrol.

The TransJurassienne Conference is a Franco-Swiss organisation. Aim: Develop exchanges, improve communication between the political and administrative institutions on both sides of the border. Members: Regional Council of Franche-Comté, the Prefecture of Franche-Comté and the Swiss cantons of Berne, Vaud, Neuchâtel and Jura.

The Galicia–North Portugal Working Community is a cross-border Euroregion straddling Galicia and Portugal. It has instigated projects of cross-border accessibility, environment and natural resources, risk capital and entrepreneurial ventures, motor vehicles and culture fields. 

The Baltic Sea States Subregional Co-operation (BSSSC) is a political network for decentralised authorities (subregions) in the Baltic Sea Region. The organisation was founded in Stavanger, Norway, 1993. Its participants are regional authorities (level directly below the national level authorities) of the 10 Baltic Sea littoral states: Germany, Denmark, Finland, Sweden, Norway, Poland, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia and Russia.

The Channel Arc Manche is a geographical area made up of the British and French territories bordering or within the English Channel. Since 2003 the Arc Manche has also become a political project resting on an informal and voluntary network of local authorities which can use the network to share best practices, coordinate initiatives and pull together project ideas to draw in EU funding.

The World Mountain People Association incorporates 3 categories of players : regional administrations and elected representatives, NGO's and researchers or experts. Thanks to this composition, it is capable of a very transversal approach to the different issues, by organising continuous dialogue between the representatives of the civil society and the elected representatives and administrations or communities. 

4 sectorial interregional organisations

Created in 1994, Marsala, Sicily, the Association of European Wine-Producing Regions (AREV) is an organisation of political and trade representatives of wine regions within the European Union (EU) and Eastern Europe. It lobbies the EU on matters affecting its members, and acts as a forum for discussion of policy and marketing.


The Assembly of European Fruit and Vegetable Growing and Horticultural Regions (AREFLH) aims to represent, defend and promote the common interests of the Fruit, Vegetables and Horticulture producing Regions; To organize and lead the dialogue and the cooperation between Regions; to reinforce, with the support of the Assembly of European Regions (AER).

ALDA logo

The Association of Local Democracy Agencies (ALDA) is a non-governmental organisation dedicated to the promotion of good governance and citizen participation at the local level. ALDA in particular focuses on activities that facilitate cooperation between local authorities and civil society. 

With around 15,000 members and working as the umbrella organisation across 15 EU countries,the Federation of Local Authority Chief Executives in Europe (UDiTE) links with its members' Local Government National Associations to promote constructive relations between Chief Executives and senior managers. UDiTE aims to develop exchanges of information and expertise, to enhance the role and functions of local authorities, and to contribute to the European Union.

Home | What is AER ? | Activities | Members and Partners | Knowledge Centre | Publications | Events | Media corner | Site Index

Assembly of European Regions - 6 Rue Oberlin - F-67000 Strasbourg - Tel: +33 3 88 22 07 07 / 63-67 rue d'Arlon - B-1040 Bruxelles - Tel: +32 2 880 95 60
All rights reserved © Assembly of European Regions (AER) 1999-2015 (Read Legal information and Disclaimer)
Development CMS Typo3 Ameos and AER - webmasterdelete_me(at)